Oh sweet Jesus I’ve actually published something! – What happens now?!

So it turns out I’m a thoroughly impatient person and writing a novel just takes too damn long so this blog post is all about my impromptu publishing of a short story.

About a week ago I decided that while I was super proud of my fiance for publishing his second story on amazon (it’s amazing, find the first one here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0727YRQCW ), I was also insanely jealous. And while he kept pointing out that I am making excellent progress with my novel (now nearing the 60,000 words mark) it just didn’t feel the same. So one evening, while he was role playing, I whipped up a front cover for a short story I had written a couple months ago and slapped that baby onto my Amazon account. Bam, done. A published piece of fiction in less than a day. I linked it to my Facebook and Twitter accounts and by the end of that first published day I had a sale! A whole 28 pence was mine! Success! Riches! I was going to be a millionaire! 😀

But then I went away and basically forgot about it in a haze of gaming and cocktails and a Take That concert (you boys were fabulous by the way!). So when I checked on it yesterday I found there had only been a grand total of three downloads (89p in my back pocket though, ker-ching!) and one of those was my fiance so probably doesn’t really count. I was a little disappointed, sure, but actually only a tiny amount. Mainly I just felt really proud. It’s a short little story (only 1500 words) but a couple of people had still taken the time and spent money on something I had done. What I’d put out there did have value, and that was a really great feeling, even if it was only for three people.

Obviously given the fact that I’d like to actually make a living from writing I have to get my shit together and start advertising (that’s right, shameless plugging coming at you at the end of this post) but, if I was just writing for fun then I could leave it there and feel really great about what I had accomplished.

I think what I’m trying to say with this blog post is that if you’re an amateur writer, not really looking for a payoff, publishing (even for free) is still something to think about. Even that first download made me feel so excited and proud of what I had put together. And if you are looking to write as a career, don’t get too bogged down in the numbers. Try and remember that every single purchase is someone saying that your creation is worth their time and money, and man, if that doesn’t make you smile then buddy you’re in the wrong profession.

I hope this post has been helpful and now for the shameless plug! Give a read of my short story and let me know what you think! 🙂

Leave a Reply

